Braziliant Adventures

The Good, The Bad, The UGLY.

Thoughts from another ND student in Salvador de Bahia, a Brazilian city way up the coast from São Paulo.

Although our experiences here in Brazil have been very different, I can really relate to her: the problems manifest themselves in slightly different ways, I can say that I have definitely felt the frustration with the “Jeitinho Brasileiro” (everything will work out, will find a way) that mostly serves as an excuse. I have felt that homesickness for an American Suburban life, and have felt hypocritical for coming here to live this life for 6 months, and then go back where I came from with everything the same. Above all I have felt that desire to do something about it but not knowing where to begin. I also can’t say that I have reached a real answer (and I know there isn’t a one), but I do know that staying in your comfort zone, keeping your not eyes close to what so many people in this world live with, doesn’t get you any closer.

This entry was published on June 3, 2013 at 4:25 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

