Braziliant Adventures

Meninos de Morumbi

Today I went with 2 friends to the Meninos de Morumbi practice. Meninos de Morumbi are a Samba band that was begun for kids in a favela in SP to give them opportunities to do something with their lives, and I met a bunch of them last fall when they were invited to Notre Dame to play at a football game. I became friends with 2 sisters of the group and have been in touch with them since they left, so I was really happy to finally get to go see them, as well as the other kids in the group. What we watched was just a rehearsal  but it was really really cool (I”ll attach a video when I figure out how to).

I enjoyed hanging out with them at ND because they were all such happy people, and it was amazing to see that again on, but now in their own environment. A lot of them come from not so great situations, but they are always smiling and laughing, and their energy is contagious. I couldn’t stop smiling, and I was thinking while watching their show how cool it would be to work with people like that every day. If my internship doesn’t work out for whatever reason, I’m considering volunteering there teaching English to the little kids (kids start participating in the program starting as young as 7, and they can stay until they are 18/19).

They have a show in a few weeks that I am planning on going to, and bringing more of my friends too.

This entry was published on February 22, 2013 at 11:39 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Meninos de Morumbi

  1. Pingback: Sisters in Sampa | Braziliant Adventures

Leave a Reply

